Andrew Robl wins Aussie Millions Challenge and $1m

Our Recommended Casinos

1100%$250Get BonusRead Review
2£50100%Get BonusRead Review
3$1,500200%Get BonusRead Review
4$400100%Get BonusRead Review
5$1000200%Get BonusRead Review
6£250100%Get BonusRead Review

Andrew Robl has been one of the top live cash game pros for the past few years. But he also happens to be a pretty good poker tournament player, which Robl recently showed at the 2013 Aussie Millions $100k Challenge. That said, let's discuss how Robl won this tournament along with a huge prize.

A Big Comeback

Robl's first $100,000 buy-in didn't go very far in this re-entry tournament. That's because he was the first of 22 players to bust out in the Aussie Millions Challenge. Following his elimination, the 26-year-old briefly considered not paying the $100k re-buy. He said:

I was a little bit upset and the last thing I wanted to do was sit there and grind a poker tournament. I went and had dinner with my girlfriend and started feeling better and decided to come give it another shot.

After re-buying into the $100k Challenge, Robl managed to make the seven-player final table, which also included Igor Kurganov, Masa Kagawa, Dan Shak, Vanessa Selbst, Tobias Reinkemeier and Niklas Heinecker.

Final Table Play

Andrew Robl didn't start out with the biggest chip stack when the final table began. However, he quickly built his stack after knocking out three players en route to a heads-up match with Kurganov. This would prove to be a pretty short heads-up round too because Robl already held a 10-to-1 chip advantage.

After dispatching Kurganov, Andrew earned a huge $1 million payout. Thanks to the massive win, his career winnings have shot up to $3,423,969. Aside from the Aussie Millions $100k Challenge, Robl has also managed to finish second in both the 2010 WPT Five Diamond Classic ($549k) and the 2012 WPT World Championship ($822k).

2013 Aussie Millions $100k Challenge Final Table Results

1. Andrew Robl – $1,000,000
2. Igor Kurganov – $610,000
3. Masa Kagawa – $320,000
4. Dan Shak – $237,000
5. Niklas Heinecker
6. Vanessa Selbst
7. Tobias Reinkemeier