Backgammon World Champions Players

The World Championship of Backgammon is held each year at the Loew's Hotel in Monte Carlo (since 1979). Typically between 200 to 250 players participate in the Championship section. Matches begin at 17 points in the early rounds and increase to 25 points in the finals. Before 1979, the World Championship of Backgammon were held in the Bahamas, and before that in Las Vegas.

The following list contains Backgammon World Champions from 1967 to 2006:

1967 Tim Holland US
1968 Tim Holland US
1969 No championships held.
1970 No championships held.
1971 Tim Holland US
1972 Oswald Jacoby US
1973 Carol Crawford US
  * First female champion
1974 Claude Beer US
1975 Billy Eisenberg US
1976 Baron Vernon Ball US
1977 Ken Goodman US
1978 Paul "X-22" Magriel US
1979 Luigi Villa Italy
1980 Walter Coratella MEXICO
1981 Lee Genud US
1982 Jacques Michel Switzerland
1983 Bill Robertie US
1984 Mike Svobodny US
1985 Charles-Henri Sabet Italy
1986 Clement Palacci Italy
1987 Bill Robertie US
1988 Phillip Marmorstein Germany
1989 Joe Russell US
1990 Hal Heinrich Canada
1991 Michael Meyburg Germany
1992 Ion Ressu ROMANIA
1993 Peter Jes Thomsen Denmark
1994 Frank Frigo US
1995 David Ben-Zion Israel
1996 Monaco Monaco
1997 Jerry Grandell Sweden
1998 Michael Meyburg Germany
1999 Jörgen Granstedt Sweden
2000 Katie Scalamandre US
2001 Jörgen Granstedt Sweden
2002 Mads Andersen Denmark
2003 Jon Kristian Røyset Norway
2004 Peter Hallberg Denmark
2005 Dennis Carlsten US
2006 Philip Vischjager NETHERLANDS