Vanessa Selbst captures second WSOP Bracelet

Our Recommended Casinos

1100%$250Get BonusRead Review
2£50100%Get BonusRead Review
3$1,500200%Get BonusRead Review
4$400100%Get BonusRead Review
5$1000200%Get BonusRead Review
6£250100%Get BonusRead Review

Four years after winning her first WSOP gold bracelet, Vanessa Selbst has captured a second bracelet after winning the 2012 WSOP Event #52 10-Game tournament. She outlasted 421 players to win this event along with $244,259; perhaps more importantly is that Selbst etched her name into poker history with the victory.

Elite Company

After taking down Event #52, Selbst became the only woman other than Jennifer Harman to win two open entry WSOP tournaments. The 27-year-old furthered her place in poker history by becoming just the sixth female to earn multiple WSOP gold bracelets.

Selbst really seems to appreciate the significance of her accomplishment after saying, "I feel really honored to be a part of that group of women that have won multiple bracelets, and obviously those are some of the best women that have ever played the game and I’m just really happy to be a part of that group." With the $244k that she earned from this tournament, the Yale Law School student now has $5,375,182 in live poker tournament winnings.

A Good Start

As for how Vanessa Selbst managed to win yet another WSOP tournament, she spoke about this by saying, "In the beginning I was getting pretty fortunate to win a bunch of big pots and scoop a couple of big ones in Seven Card Stud Hi-Lo."

She continued by saying, "Once I got the big stack and the other stacks were shorter, in the blind games I could open up a little bit more, like No Limit, Limit, PLO and stuff like that, because they had to worry about the pay the beginning it was just sort of playing my cards and after that....honestly I ran so good that, once I had the chips it was kind of easy.

2012 WSOP Event #52 10-Game (6-Handed) Final Table Results:

1. Vanessa Selbst – $244,259
2. Michael Saltzburg – $150,840
3. Tommy Hang – $97,884
4. Chris Bjorin    – $64,649
5. Thomas Chambers – $43,099
6. Mike Gorodinsky – $30,169