Daniel Negreanu wins 2013 WSOP Europe High Roller and $1m

Our Recommended Casinos

1100%$250Get BonusRead Review
2£50100%Get BonusRead Review
3$1,500200%Get BonusRead Review
4$400100%Get BonusRead Review
5$1000200%Get BonusRead Review
6£250100%Get BonusRead Review

In a tournament full of stars, Daniel Negreanu shined the brightest as he won the 2013 WSOP Europe €25k High Roller along with $1,001,225. Thanks to this big win, the 39-year-old secured his sixth career gold bracelet and locked down the 2013 WSOP Player of the Year title. After the victory, an excited Negreanu tweeted the following:

Thank you ALL for your support- I WON! I am on cloud right now and love each and every one of you. Even those of you who hate me haha

Negreanu had to go through a very tough 80-player field to secure this victory. The final table said it all as he faced off against Erik Seidel, Jason Koon, Scott Seiver, Tim Adams, David Peters, Philipp Gruissem and Nicolau Villa Lobos - all strong players in their own right. However, none of them could stop Negreanu from reaching his sixth WSOP win.

The last player who had a chance to stop him was Villa Lobos. The Brazilian poker pro hung tough with Negreanu for a while. However, he got into major trouble after going all-in with pocket 5's, only to be called by Negreanu and his pocket jacks. The board helped neither player, which sealed the victory for 'KidPoker'.

Following the tournament, Negreanu playfully took a shot at Phil Hellmuth by saying, "I’m so far behind Phil Hellmuth in terms of bracelets that I’m going to say this: two Player of the Year awards to zero."

Negreanu came into the WSOPE High Roller trailing Matthew Ashton in the Player of the Year race by a slim margin. However, with his High Roller victory, Negreanu skyrocketed past Ashton and on towards his second career POY award.

High Roller Final Table Results
1. Daniel Negreanu - $1,001,225
2. Nicolau Villa Lobos - $621,450
3. Philipp Gruissem - $345,250
4. David Peters - $207,841
5. Tim Adams - $138,868
6. Scott Seiver - $102,978
7. Jason Koon - $87,655
8. Erik Seidel - $76,474